609 in 2015 and later

648 past in 2015 (updated 17-07-'15)

O.W. Qualification System – Games of the XXXI Olympiad – RIO 2016

The IOC formally approved two open water swimming events: the men's 10 km marathon swim and the women's 10 km marathon swim.
The International Olympic Committee (IOC) has approved the qualification process for the marathon swimming event at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games where the Olympic 10km Marathon Swim will be held along the Copacabana Beach in Rio de Janeiro.

This method is similar as for London'12 where Setubal'12 was the only Olympic Qualifier Event for those that missed qualification at the World Championships in Shanghai'11

The qualification events are listed in hierarchical order of qualification.

MEN / WOMEN total 25 + 25 = 50 swimmers

Number of Quota Places Qualification Events
20 Marathon Swimmers (10 Men & 10 Women) 2015 FINA World Championships
The ten (10) best ranked athletes from the 10km event will directly qualify.
18 Marathon Swimmers (9 Men & 9 Women)

FINA Olympic Marathon Swim Qualifier 2016 tbc.
The nine (9) best ranked athletes will directly qualify.
Only NOCs/NFs that have no swimmer qualified through the 2015 FINA World Championships may elect to send a maximum of two (2) athletes per event to the FINA Olympic Marathon Swim Qualifier 2016. Each NOC/NF can qualify a maximum of one (1) athlete per gender.

10 Marathon Swimmers (5 Men & 5 Women) Continental Representation
The best ranked athlete in the FINA Olympic Marathon Swim Qualifier 2016, not yet qualified, from each of five (5) Continents will directly qualify. Should an NOC/NF have previously qualified one (1) or two (2) swimmers, the next best ranked athlete from the same continent, not yet qualified, in the ranking of the FINA Olympic Marathon Swim Qualifier 2016 event will qualify to ensure that each of these competitions yields a competitor.

One (1) male and one (1) female marathon swimmer from the Host Country if not previously qualified, will directly qualify.

read the whole document >>>here<<<