Paola Ruiz Stuns Sharon van Rouwendaal at Open Water Cup

David Aubry improved one position since the first leg of the LEN Open Water Cup: the Frenchman was second in Eilat and now won the race in Brive quite convincingly. Among the women, Spain’s Paola Ruiz stunned the favorites and out-touched Olympic champion Sharon van Rouwendaal to clinch the title.


Men: 1. David Aubry (FRA) 1:54:31.45, 2. Athanasios Kynigakis (GRE) 1:54:36.47, 3. Alberto Martinez (ESP) 01:54:38.09

Women: 1. Paula Ruiz (ESP) 1:59:56.12, 2. Sharon van Rouwendaal (NED) 1:59:57.24, 3. Angelica Andre (POR) 2:00:34.15

Read the article @swimmingworldmagazine