Who's Who of Open Water Swimming

source: NBC Sports
original: NBC Sports
author: Steven Munatones
date: 2008-04-04

From Captain Matthew Webb who first crossed the English Channel in 1875 to Lynne Cox who was the first person to swim in Antarctica, open water swimming has always attracted heroic and risk-taking adventurers.  Many, but not all, of these adventurers have been inducted in the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame (IMSHOF).

This 10-part historical series will cover open water luminaries ranging from Keo Nakama, who first crossed the Molokai Channel in Hawaii, to modern-day heroes like Shelley Taylor-Smith.

First, a brief introduction of the IMSHOF may be useful to understanding how these great open water athletes were selected.